HAPPY HOUR: Ivanka Trump Engaged to One of NYC’s Hottest Bachelors, Jared Kushner

ivankaIvanka Trump tweeted last night: I got engaged! Truly the happiest day of my life!! The lucky man: Jared Kushner, the published of the New York Observer.

Kushner surprised Trump with a 5.22 carat cushion-cut diamond with a platinum and diamond mounting from Ivanka Trump Fine Jewelry Line, her signature jewelry line. The couple has been dating since 2007 and Trump, a vice president at the Trump Organization, converted to Judaism for Kushner.

ivanka_trumpNew York Magazine must have had a hunch the couple was ready to seal the deal since they recently profiled Ivanka and discussed her relationship with Jared Kushner. “Good luck with Ivanka,” Jared e-mailed the writer before the interview. “She is a superstar and you will enjoy your time with her.” How charming is he?

In the interview, Trump said that she and Jared are perfect for each other because they are both workaholics: “Jared and I are very similar in that we’re very ambitious. That’s what makes it so amazing to be in a relationship with someone who is supportive of that. I’m happy for him when he is in the office working late. I know how good that feels when you sit down and return e-mails.”

Ivanka gushed about her soon-to-be fiancée saying, “Jared is my best friend for many reasons, largely because I’ve allowed him to see who I truly am and he still loves me. He’s so kind as a human being, I look up to him. He’s a bit of a hero of mine. His ability to remain focused, he lacks an anxiety that’s natural for someone his age handed so much responsibility … Sometimes I catch myself looking at him and being thankful that I have grown to a level of personal maturity that I would value so much the qualities he has.”

ivankaThe couple spends alone time much like other New York couples who work countless hours preferring to spend their personal time together and not at the latest hotspot. “We’re very mellow. We go to the park. We go biking together. We go to the 2nd Avenue Deli. We both live in this fancy world. But on a personal level, I don’t think I could be with somebody — I know he couldn’t be with somebody — who needed to be ‘on’ all the time.” One of their favorite activities is to group friends together for dinner parties. “I’ve learned how to cook,” Ivanka said. “Once a week, we have a night in and I cook for just the two of us. We turn everything off and spend time together and talk about what we’re working on.”

When asked about the Kushner family, Ivanka had nothing but love for them saying his relationship with his father, Charlie: “It’s really beyond beautiful. His sibling as well. It’s so natural for them to extend themselves in any way they can to support each other. That’s not totally natural. I’ll joke with my brothers I wish we had the capacity to be as giving and selfless. They’re my best friends but we can be pretty selfish.”

So what does the future hold for the gorgeous couple? “He’ll be a great father,” she said. “He knows how to prioritize what’s important.”

Leave a Reply

