SECOND TIME AROUND: Upscale Consignment Shop Arrives in NYC, “Real Housewives of NYC” Alex McCord Hosts Grand Opening

fb 008Back in May, I reported that my favorite consignment shop, Second Time Around, was collaborating with “Real Housewives of New York City” Alex McCord (http://famespy.com/2009/05/13/housewives-of-nyc-alex-mccord-announces-on-reunion-show-that-shes-working-for-one-of-miss-chrissys-favorite-high-end-consignment-shops-second-time-around/). Alex made the announcement on the reunion show and I was thrilled, considering I have been a devoted shopper for years. After trekking to Connecticut, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts I secretly hoped she would lure them into NYC for a retail location and I finally got my wish. Last night I attended the opening of Second Time Around’s first shop in NYC, located in Nolita.

fb 003Second Time Around is a high-end consignment store with multiple locations including in the Northeast. In the consignment business for over 35 years, they have 18 locations in 7 states. I first discovered Second Time Around on Boston’s Newbury Street when I was killing time with one of my best gal-pal’s. This wasn’t your average consignment shop with labels like Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Versace, Prada on display. On that fateful first visit we purchased a Jimmy Choo handbag, Manolo Blahnik shoes, D&G boots, Versace belt, and so much more. After years of traveling to Boston to hit their 3 shops on Newbury Street, I found a closer shop in Greenwich, CT. My favorite purchase to date is a pair of silver Manolo Blahnik strappy slingback’s purchased from the Greenwich shop for $80 and a Louis Vuitton EPI leather wallet for $110. SCORE!

fb 002If you haven’t shopped consignment, then you’re missing out. First off, it’s environmentally correct. What’s more green that recycling clothes? Second, it gives you the chance to purchase high end designer items at a fraction of the cost. If you can get over something being slightly worn, then you need to go NOW. Then the light bulb went off, why don’t I consign my clothes? I started consigning at the Greenwich, CT shop six months ago and have made a pretty penny with the suitcases full of clothes I’ve brought in. One day a check arrived in the mail for $300, which was like winning the lottery since I had completely forgotten about my consigned clothes. It’s easy money.

fb 001fb 009Arriving at the NYC shop last night I was relieved to see they had kept the charming boutique feel and the store is bigger than most of the other locations with a hidden back room full of goodies. The store is labeled by category, making it easy to sort through the vast amounts of merchandise. I have to admit I was curious to see if Second Time Around’s price point would translate well in NYC, where rent and overhead is much higher than their other locations. Thankfully, their selection is vast and the prices are great. They carry merchandise at all price points, from very reasonably priced tee shirts to high-end labels such as Chanel, Prada, Miu Miu, and Louis Vuitton. They are still filling up on their inventory, but being in such a fabulous location I am certain the local girls will fill the shop with fabulous frocks and glorious shoes, gently worn of course. I am still dreaming about the Louis Vuitton dress I saw last night…

fb 010I had a chance to speak with the beautiful Alex McCord about her involvement with the company and it turns out she designed their fabulous new logo. I asked her if she was wearing something from Second Time Around and it turns out she was, and that fabulous dress will be on the racks for sale at the Nolita store TODAY. After I posted the article on the store back in May, I received hundreds of emails from fans of the chain who raved about their great finds and their devotion to the store. I told this to Alex because I wanted to make her aware that in addition to her “Housewives” following, there is a cult Second Time Around following as well and we couldn’t be happier that she picked such a fantastic brand to partner with. We can’t wait to see what they do next.

And before you ask, no I didn’t see Simon.

Happy shopping!

fb 011Second Time Around is now open and located at 262 Mott Street between Houston and Prince Streets (212) 965-8415

http://www.secondtimearound.net/


One response to “SECOND TIME AROUND: Upscale Consignment Shop Arrives in NYC, “Real Housewives of NYC” Alex McCord Hosts Grand Opening

  1. I’am Alex’s and Simon’s number #1 fan from the beginning. I absolutely love them. To bad we don’t have a Second Time Around here also, in the SouthEast. There are consignment stores, but not that nice and chic and up to date.

    And of course, there is NO Alex Mccord to brighten my day when I walk in. Maybe as an extra bonus, Simon could walk in also.
    From an adoring fan,
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

