‘Housewives of NYC’ Alex McCord Announces on Reunion Show That She’s Working For One of Miss Chrissy’s Favorite High-End Consignment Shops, ‘Second Time Around’

Second%20Time%20AroundI am biased because I LOVE ‘Second Time Around’. So when I saw on last night’s reunion show for “Real Housewives of NYC” that Alex McCord is going to be doing some work for the high-end consignment chain, I was thrilled. I am planning to do an entire post on the best high-end consignment shops around, but here’s a taste of what’s to come.

secondtimearound2%C2%A9BalcosFor those of you not in the know, here’s the lowdown. ‘Second Time Around’ is a high-end consignment store with multiple locations including MA, RI, and CT. If you haven’t shopped consignment, then you’re missing out. First off, it’s environmentally correct. What’s more green that recycling clothes? Second, it gives you the chance to purchase high end designer items at a fraction of the cost. If you can get over something being slightly worn, then you need to go NOW.

 

 

secondtimeI first discovered Second Time Around on Boston’s Newbury Street when I was killing time with one of my best gal-pal’s, a Moon Sista who never has buyer’s remorse either. I was pleased to see they offered both gently worn and even new items with tags still on them. This wasn’t an average consignment shop with labels like Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Versace, Prada on display. In the consignment business for over 35 years, they have 18 locations in 7 states. Digging through racks is never a challenge for us so we dove in and ended up coming out with more than we could carry: Jimmy Choo handbag, Manolo Blahnik shoes, D&G boots, Versace belt, and so much more. One rack  held  merchandise from Louis Vuitton, Chanel, St John, another rack had jeans and the clothes were perfectly color coordinated. Shoes lined the floor from Prada, Gucci, Manolo Blahnik, Jimmy. The bags behind the counter were vast: Chloe, YSL, Miu Miu. Come to find out there was another shop UPSTAIRS. So off we went to hit the next section of racks and grab more to-die-for finds. Belts, accessories, shoes, bags, tops, pants, we cleaned them out. Wait, there is ANOTHER shop 1 block away…this is too good to be true. Needless to say, a stop at Second Time Around has been a Boston staple every time I travel there. While attending a wedding in Providence, RI, I hit the Second Time Around shop at the Providence Place mall and found an Alice Temperely top for $40 among other fabulous finds. I nearly died since her tops starts at about $500.

secondtimearoundI needed a ‘Second Time Around’ fix, but with no trips to New England on the horizon hit their website in search of a closer shop. Come to find out the chain has a store located in Greenwich, CT. Knowing the type of resident who resides in Greenwich, I figured the merchandise would be on-point and I was right. Right now I am wearing a pair of silver Manolo Blahnik strappy slingback’s purchased from the Greenwich shop for $80. On the same trip I purchased a Louis Vuitton EPI leather wallet for $110. HELLO! On a previous trip I bought a Burberry tote in a cheery green plaid for $125, while my gal-pal Amy purchased Prada heels for $65. SCORE!

Then the light bulb went off, why don’t I consign my clothes? Lord knows I have plenty in my bedroom that’s been converted into a closet (aka Chrissy’s Closet). So in January I arrived at the Greenwich, CT shop with THREE suitcases full of clothes. Unaware that they only take current season items I was sent home with my summer staples, but they kept the winter merchandise and a few months later I received a check for $300. Last week I received another check for $200. Easy money!

My Manolo Blahnik's purchased for $80

My Manolo Blahnik's purchased for $80

I could go on all day about Second Time Around, but watching the ‘Real Housewives of NYC’ reunion last night I nearly died when ‘housewife’ Alex McCord said she is doing consulting work with the company. A visit to the company website this morning proved I hadn’t heard wrong and saw the company had posted this statement: “Second Time Around is excited to announce that Alex McCord from the hit TV show the Real Housewives of New York City will be working with us on a variety of upcoming projects. Stay tuned to www.secondtimearound.net for updates.” Alex is a graphic designer, who created Bethenny’s ‘Skinny Girl’ logo so I can’t wait to see what she has in store for the shops.

Check them out at http://www.secondtimearound.net/ to find a location near you.  Happy Shopping!

Alex McCord

Alex McCord

6 responses to “‘Housewives of NYC’ Alex McCord Announces on Reunion Show That She’s Working For One of Miss Chrissy’s Favorite High-End Consignment Shops, ‘Second Time Around’

  1. I love this blog! I too am a huge fan of STA and Alex what a fab combo!

  2. Pingback: Baby names search - Search for chloe

  3. Another fantastic high end consignment shop just opened in Ridgewood, NJ called Savvy Chic Consignment Boutique at 38 Oak Street. I found a fabulous Gucci wristlet and they have every designer you would want.

  4. I’m a big fan of consignment shops, but if you take a moment to check out some of STA’s page on Yelp, you might want to think twice about consigning with them.

  5. I work at Second Time Around in MA, and I have to say, you’ve said it all. I’m so proud to work for a company with such high standards and great relationships with their customers and clients. I encourage everyone to stop by a store near you and buy and sell your clothes…there’s no better way!

  6. Pingback: SECOND TIME AROUND: Upscale Consignment Shop Arrives in NYC « Famespy

Leave a Reply

